Author Topic: Portland to Sun Valley, ID  (Read 605 times)

Offline gkowalski

Portland to Sun Valley, ID
« on: April 22, 2013, 10:04:49 pm »
I plan on cycling from Portland, Oregon to Sun Valley Idaho from August 1 to August 22nd.

Does anyone have any information, routes or words of wisdom? I am new to Adventure Cycling and need all the tips I can get!

Thanks,

gkowalski

Offline CMajernik

Re: Portland to Sun Valley, ID
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2013, 02:03:01 pm »
For routing in OR go to this link. There's several bike maps you can order: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/HWY/BIKEPED/Pages/maps.aspx

I don't know if ID has any specific bike maps but you can check this page: http://itd.idaho.gov/bike_ped/
Carla Majernik
Routes and Mapping Program Director

Adventure Cycling Association
Inspiring people of all ages to travel by bicycle.
800/755-2453, 406/721-1776 x218, 406/721-8754 fax
www.adventurecycling.org

Follow Routes & Mapping on Twitter: @acaroutes

Offline raybo

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 08:05:36 am »
I rode from just south of Portland (Newberg) to Yellowstone through lower Idaho.  I didn't go through Sun Valley.  I rode to Stanley took 75 to the east toward Challis.  Had I gone south, I would have gone to Sun Valley.

I followed the ACA Transamerica route until Austin Junction, OR and then veered off south toward Vale.

Here is my journal of the ride.  It includes a map of the route I took, a daily journal and hundreds of photos.

I really enjoyed the ride.  I'm sure you will too!
Visit the on-line bike touring archive at www.biketouringtips.com

Offline Patco

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013, 09:05:26 am »