Author Topic: anyone biked across the US in 15 days or less?  (Read 5432 times)

Offline Moneer81

anyone biked across the US in 15 days or less?
« on: January 07, 2006, 11:45:27 pm »
Hey guys,

I am planning to bike from San Diego to Norfolk this coming spring of 2006. Due to limited time and budget, I am planning to pretty much race across as fast as I can. This is my first time and I was wondering if anyone has biked across this fast because I have a few questions and could use a lot of tips. Hope to hear back from ya

Thanks

Offline Fred Hiltz

« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 08:12:43 am »
Yes, with vehicle support. Take a look at the Race Across America at http://www.raceacrossamerica.org/ and http://www.ultracycling.com/.

Fred

Offline Moneer81

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2006, 08:40:48 am »
I am already aware of those two races...some impressing times there!

anyone had a fast tour without any vehicle support?

Offline RussellSeaton

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2006, 04:56:20 pm »
There is an advertisement in each issue of Adventure Cycling for a recumbent manufacturer, Easy Racer.  In the ad they detail the accomplishments of a loaded tourer on an Easy Racer who has ridden many multi thousand mile loaded tours averaging 100-150 or so miles a day.  To me this does not sound like touring.  But I think the point of the ad is to brag about the comfort of the recumbent and how you can travel 100+ miles day after day.  Find a copy of Adventure Cycling and the company, Easy Racer I think, and see if you can contact the person in the advertisement.