Author Topic: Bike Europe  (Read 6611 times)

Offline barbiedoll

Bike Europe
« on: May 12, 2005, 11:41:38 am »
Are there any cyclists in need of information about biking around Europe? Especially Germany? I am an American living in Heidelberg (by choice) and the last 3 years have been spent biking all over the EU.

Also, is there an area to post bike journals here?
I am a Newbie and would love to tell my crazy stories to adventure biking enthusiasts.Text ;p

"Sucess is going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm"

Offline brad

Bike Europe
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2005, 12:20:11 pm »
where in Heidelberg do you live? I lived there last year myself in Kircheim. There are some great groups that ride from there with a lot of german-english-american expats. I live near Frankfurt now and my quads do not miss climbing the Koenigstuhl so much.
Brad

If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay home. ~James Michener

Offline drew

Bike Europe
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 04:27:39 pm »
Sure thing.
Whatever you have to say about Tuscanny in October would be great!
We are US midwesterners used to some bad weather but are not sure how warm we should set up our sleeping bags and tent. We are going to self sustain with a Bob Trailer so far and are keeping the weight to as much a minimum as we can.  We decided on Pisa as a start point to minimize starting off in an area that would be congested and thought we may be able to store bike transport material at the train station.
Thanks

Offline Girovita

Bike Europe
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2005, 06:34:51 pm »
Hi Drew--

Not sure if this is too late to respond, but I lived in Tuscany (Lucca) for a year. It's pretty cold and rainy about now, and it generally stays that way until the end of April. The good news is, the tourist crunch has subsided and fall is arguably the best food season. Good luck!

Susan

Offline AKTandem

Bike Europe