Author Topic: GPS Waypoint Renaming  (Read 8474 times)

Offline TomRaven

GPS Waypoint Renaming
« on: February 06, 2008, 09:04:05 pm »
I am new to the ACA GPS data but have managed to get it downloaded to my Garmin 60CSx.  Have figured out route reversing, etc., but cannot figure out how to change the names of the waypoints without spending ten minutes on each one.  So far I have maps downloaded to my 60CSx with meaningless 6 digit codes.  Is there an easy way to change those to geographic locations??  Appreciate any suggestions.  

FredHiltz

GPS Waypoint Renaming
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 10:49:45 am »
Hi Tom,

Yes, editing waypoint names in the GPSR is painful. It's much easier to do it on your computer before loading them into the receiver. If you have a graphical program that can read the ACA waypoint files, such as Garmin's MapSource, just double click and type a new name.

Graphical programs are expensive because of the map data that comes with them. Free text-based programs can read the waypoint files and present a table of waypoints that you can edit before loading the receiver. I use G7ToWin; there are several others. The comments in each waypoint, together with your paper maps, will help make new meaningful names.

Start by getting the GPS Data Users guide on the page where you downloaded the files. From the ACA home page, go to Routes & Maps, then GPS Information to find its link. It contains detailed instructions and tips about using both kinds of programs.

Let us know how it goes, please.

Fred

Offline TomRaven

GPS Waypoint Renaming
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 11:12:40 am »
Fred:  Thanks.  I did follow that procedure using the computer and did change a number of waypoint names.  Now when I completed naming them, I tried to transfer to the GPS 60Csx but cant get the routing lines to transfer.  The new route names appear but no route lines.  Suggestions?  

Offline ptaylor

GPS Waypoint Renaming