Author Topic: Howdy from the new guy  (Read 2998 times)

Offline Nightturkey

Howdy from the new guy
« on: May 17, 2010, 05:10:23 am »
Just found this website/forum today, and thought I'd jump in the pool with you guys.  I'm fairly new to cycling (less than three years), took it up initially because I was tired of being a fat fifty-plus.  I'm just about to turn 55, have lost over 40 lbs since I started, and I'm thoroughly enjoying it!  Most of my riding is a 12.6-mile commute through the Great Sumter National Forest here in South Carolina, but I've participated in some longer-distance charity rides (ADA's Tour de Cure two weeks ago, for example).  I ride a slightly-modified Peugeot "Cote d'Azur" with a 7-speed Shimano Nexus (I'll be glad to post a pic if I can figure out the procedure and if anyone's interested). 
     I do have one question for the members of this forum:  Do y'all smile when you ride, or are you a bunch of those oh-so-serious cyclists who ride hunched over their handlebars with a look of grim determination on their faces?  As for me, there's always something I either see, hear or smell during my rides (especially now in Spring) that plasters a big ol' grin on my kisser.  Honeysuckle's in full bloom, as are the jasmine and primroses.  Oh - and NOT spending $2.65 per gallon to get where I'm going helps, too.

Offline John Bailey

Re: Howdy from the new guy
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2010, 05:58:50 am »
 :)Smiler here!

Welcome!

I wish I could get gas for $2.65 >:(

John

FredHiltz

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2010, 07:46:18 am »
...  Do y'all smile when you ride, or are you a bunch of those oh-so-serious cyclists who ride hunched over their handlebars with a look of grim determination on their faces?

Hah! I think I speak for most of us, saying we do it for the fun. I sometimes glance in the mirror at my sweetheart tucked in behind my rear wheel and call back, "Is that a grin or a grimace?"